Federal Legislation

Find a Support Group

Find a Professional

The Adoption Tax Credit Refundability Act of 2017, S 937 and HR 2476

Updated June 29, 2017

A bill to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to provide for a refundable adoption tax credit was introduced into the U.S. Senate by Senators Robert Casey (PA)and Roy Blunt (MO) on April 25, 2017. S 937 would extend tax benefits to more Americans, encourage adoption and increase American families’ abilities to offer homes to adoptive children. 

The same bill was introduced into the U.S. House of Representatives by Representative Diane Black (TN) on May 17, 2017. HR 2476 would amend the Internal Revenue Code to make the tax credit for adoption expenses refundable.

Although the adoption tax credit was made permanent in the American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012 (the so-called “Fiscal Cliff” law), this new legislation will restore the refundable portion of the credit which was in place in 2010 and 2011. This legislation is critical to creating financial flexibility for families seeking to adopt.

RESOLVE is part of a national coalition of organizations committed to saving and improving the Adoption Tax Credit. Follow updates on the coalition via the website and Facebook page. RESOLVE supports this bill and needs your help getting this bill passed and made into a law.

The reinstitution of the refundable adoption tax credit, through the Adoption Tax Credit Refundability Act of 2017 will help provide access and relief to those who would otherwise not be able to build their family through adoption.

Current Senate Co-Sponsors:

  1. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
  2. Kirsten Gillibrand, Kirsten E. [D-NY]
  3. James M. Inhofe [R-OK]
  4. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
  5. Edward J. Markey [D-MA]
  6. Mike Rounds [R-SD]
  7. Ben Sasse [R-NE]

Current House of Representatives Co-Sponsors

  1. Karen Bass [D-CA]
  2. Jaime Herrera Beutler [R-WA]
  3. Danny K. Davis, [D-IL]
  4. Debbie Dingell [D-MI]
  5. Trent Franks [R-AZ]
  6. Vicky Hartzler [R-MO]
  7. Seth Moulton [D-MA-6]
  8. Kristi L. Noem [R-SD]
  9. David P. Roe [R-TN]
  10. C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger [D-MD]
  11. Krysten Sinema[D-AZ]
  12. Tim Ryan [D-OH]
  13. Robert J. Wittman [R-VA]

Send a letter of support to your Senators and Representative for the Adoption Tax Credit

Send letters right now to your U.S. Senators and Representative.

FAQS on this Bill

Read frequently asked questions and other information about this bill.

In the News